Wrecking ball lyrics: Swallowed up

This song surprised me in more than one way. Firstly because I have not expected it to turn up on the internet before the official release of Wrecking Ball, as I got the feeling the bonus tracks are not out there yet. As if I have not had more than enough opportunity to realize  the immense power of the virtual community! So there it was, with the beautiful visuals from  Bruce fan Gina Giambone.
Somehow I had the idea it would be a kind of throwaway, being tucked in at the end of the album. (I still do not really understand the concept of bonus or hidden tracks. Would appreciate any insights into the reasoning behind it.) Which was also stupid, as The Way (hidden track on The Promise) is a great favourite of mine. Also, I find the singing on this track absolutely beautiful and perfect with the lyrics.

But this song just blew me away. Maybe it was the right song at the right moment – being all alone on a Saturday night … (Could also be the wrong song at the wrong moment. J)

This is one of the few Springsteen songs where I can find no sense of hope or redemption, just this great, great sadness. As most of his work, it is certainly open to different interpretations. Firstly, of course, it could be the voice of a tired 99 percenter lamenting the way his hopes and dreams have been swallowed up by greater forces in the economy. Could be a tired middle aged worker realizing nothing has come of his hopes to climb the ladder, that the system has let him down. Could be a juvenile delinquent who found no relief in the system which is supposed to help him. Could be a longtime sufferer who did not have the luck to make the change from depression sufferer to depression fighter, who just feels there is nothing left.

To me it is the sad admittance of a person in a long-standing relationship that things are not the same any more. As young couples all of us believe we will be different – there will be no divorce, no drifting apart, no breaking of the connection.  And then come real life, children, finances … and in the blink of an eye things seem to have changed. We might stay in the relationship, but maybe do not have the energy to fight against the odds anymore. The tiredness in this song gets to me. This person seems prepared to drift on with things being as they are, without the energy or faith to try to make things change.

This frightens me, because it is a different Springsteen writing here. I certainly hope the moments when he feels like this, are few and far between. (Because yes, I do not believe he can write about anything without experiencing the feelings himself.)

OK, I will switch to Wrecking Ball immediately … let’s keep the defiance and the hope alive!

Thanks, as always, to http://www.springsteenlyrics.com for the lyrics.

Favourite lines?
I fell asleep
On a dark and starless sea
With nothing but the cloak
Of God’s mercy over me

I fell asleep
On a dark and starless sea
With nothing but the cloak
Of God’s mercy over me

I come upon strange earth
And to a great black cave
I dreamt I awoke
As if buried in my grave

We’ve been swallowed up
We’ve been swallowed up
Disappeared from this world
We’ve been swallowed up

Bones of sailors from the north
And sailors from the east
Lay high and up high
In the in the belly of a beast

A beast should you wander in its path
On your ship and your flesh you serve
You disappear from this world
‘Till you’ve been swallowed up

We’ve been swallowed up
We’ve been swallowed up
Disappeared from this world
We’ve been swallowed up

Ah-ah-ah-ah-ah
Ah-ah-ah-ah-ah
Ah-ah-ah-ah-ah
Ah-ah-ah-ah-ah

We trusted our skills
And our good selves
Put our faith that with God
The righteous in this world prevail

But we’ve been swallowed up
We’ve been swallowed up
Disappeared from this world
We’ve been swallowed up

We’ve been swallowed up
We’ve been swallowed up
Disappeared from this world
We’ve been swallowed up

Ah-ah-ah-ah-ah
Ah-ah-ah-ah-ah
Ah-ah-ah-ah-ah
Ah-ah-ah-ah-ah

7 thoughts on “Wrecking ball lyrics: Swallowed up

  1. Hello, again!
    Well the concept of “bonus tracks” had a meaning when Compact Discs first appeared. Because you could fit more music into them, they sometimes had “bonus tracks”, ie tracks that did not appear on the vinyl record, Coming back to the present, “The Wrestler” was a bonus track on “Working On A Dream”, but I do not know how much “bonus” that was since it appeared in all versions of the album. In the case of “Wrecking Ball”, there are two CD versions of the album. The two bonus tracks appear on only one of them, so maybe the term “bonus” is somehow justified in this case.

      • Pap, how do you handle the English and Greek on one blog? Both do not seem to be visible all the time? At the moment I have separate blogs in English and Afrikaans about different subjects, but some kind of merger could be good.

  2. My whole Blog is in Greek, because when I started writing about concerts & trips, I was mainly addressing it to my Greek friends, some of which had their own (Greek) blogs. But when the time came to review the new Bruce album, I realized that most of my Bruce friends where from abroad. So what I did is I wrote it and posted it in Greek here : http://papdx.blogspot.com/2012/03/bring-on-your-wrecking-ball.html and then the next day I trasnlated it in English and made another post here : http://papdx.blogspot.com/2012/03/bring-on-your-wrecking-ball_05.html (The one you read). Both posts have the same title (Bring On Your Wrecking Ball) which might have confused you. It turned out that it was good that I posted in two languages because a Greek site has already asked to reprint it.
    By the way, I will add your blog to my list of favourites on the top right, and it will show me every time you update it!

Leave a Reply

