To listen or not to listen

Although I am only a few years younger than Bruce, this is my first experience of the release of a Springsteen album. And yes, that is really sad … 🙂 I honestly think my life would have been better if I had been on board since the early years. Not that I had a bad life, not at all. But with all this positive energy, all this passion … could have moved mountains! 🙂
So tonight (after a long day without internet access) it’s time to search for the first released song as promised on Backstreets. And of course, as I have secretly hoped, the songs are already all over the internet. I am having the time of my life. And I know I am not alone.
On Greasy Lake they have an interesting (and very valid) discussion about the difference between experiences then and now. And I honestly understand. But no, I do not have the slightest qualms about listening to anything as soon as I can lay my hands on it. To me this is an incredible experience and to be able to share it with such a vast community makes it all the more special.
I am not even going to try to say anything about the songs I have already heard. Except that I can recognize the earnest craftsmanship in them that I have learned to love in Bruce. And that – as arrangements are coming through and air tickets have been bought – my first Springsteen concerts are becoming much more than a vague experience far in the future. It is growing to be very much part of my reality. And honestly, I have never felt so much alive …

Have you heard some of the songs? What is your feeling about them? And do you feel free to listen already? Or would you prefer to wait for 6 March? Please let me know!

4 thoughts on “To listen or not to listen

    • Of the four that I have heard, I like Death to my hometown most. But surely all of them are going to grow on us.

  1. He was great performing on the Grammys. He’s still got it. Even after all these years. I was raised on Bruce and I’m only 20. It’s never too late to become a fan so it’s awesome to experience a release at any point. I’m just excited he’s going back on tour. I’ve only heard “We Take Care of our Own” off the new album. If it was legally on iTunes, I wouldn’t feel bad listening to it, or on youtube. That’s always a way. Thanks for checking out my theory blog. It just happened to relate to a bunch of Bruce stuff for the section.

    • Hallo! Yes, that’s what WordPress tagsurger does for me – leads me to all kinds of interesting blogs where Bruce is often only mentioned once. It is part of the journey with his music. Also getting to know other American artists through his playing with them. Regards from South Africa!

Leave a Reply

