Fight depression – and win (2): Causes of depression

This short article deals with a few possible causes of depression. The most notable (and shocking!) statement these experts make is that they do NOT consider depression to be an illness. Yes, I was also shocked and indignant at first, because it took my doctor years to get me to believe that it is an illness and that I cannot help having it. But this is really where my trouble started, because believing it is an illness turns you into a helpless victim. When I moved away from this status of victim, I could start to take control (during the good times) and concentrate on the things I can DO to reduce my depression. And it worked!

http://www.clinical-depression.co.uk/dlp/depression-information/causes-of-depression/

This article mentions three important things:

  1. Why they don’t consider depression an illness.
  2. The important influence  of thinking styles on depression (this is where the penny dropped for me)
  3. The influence of grief or trauma on depression. Why don’t everybody who suffers hardships develop depression?

Following these links could make a difference to your life as it has made to mine!

Leave a Reply

