Two hours of nothing but love

Much as I had looked forward to Julian Garicia’s programme of love songs for Valentine’s Day, I came out a little disappointed. Although it was certainly still worth getting up at 4 a.m. it did not live up to my expectations. (Which just shows how easily high expectations can lead to disappointment!) Also, really listening carefully to Jersey Girl for the first time, made it worth it. Actually quite a few of my own special favourites were there, as beautiful as ever. I will only mention three of them here.
Two hearts: A song I have only recently discovered on Live in NYC. I just ove the interaction with Stevie.
… Alone buddy there ain’t no peace of mind
That’s why I’ll keep searching till I find my special one …

Tougher than the rest: Wonderful to see him singing it now with Patti with just as much enthusiasm as he did it years ago in Paris when all of them were so young and sexy.
… So somebody ran out left somebody’s heart in a mess
Well if you’re looking for love honey
I’m tougher than the rest … Maybe your other boyfriends couldn’t pass the test
Well if you’re rough and ready for love honey I’m tougher than the rest ….
I just love the defiance in this song, the willingness to give love (and life) another chance, in spite of having been wounded before. Brilliant disguise: To me this song is about finding the real person in your loved one and finding the real person in yourself. And then being that real person for yourself and for your loved one. So tell me what I see when I look in your eyes
Is that you baby or just a brilliant disguise?

(Why is it so darn difficult to write about his songs? I suppose just because he has already said whatever there is to say in the best possible way!)
Anyway, some of the love songs played which I do not fancy very much, are Hungry heart, Secret garden and Fire. And no, I do not really know why. Maybe just to show myself (and my readers) that I still can think for myself and not just blindly adore everything the man has ever done without being able to judge for myself. (As my family seem to think!)
I have been thinking that maybe it is just that although he has written some wonderful love songs, those are not his main forte. Although there usually is a girl somewhere in all the great Springsteen songs, love is usually not the main theme. No, it is the great escape into a better life which is always at the centre of all of them. And one of the great wonders of Springsteen is the way he could keep singing those songs with conviction decades after he had personally made that transition … But that is another topic for another day.

Leave a Reply

