Where it all started for me …

On an ordinary winter’s day in 2009 my life started to change. A small shift of destiny took place.
No, nothing spectacular like a man with a diamond or a huge writing contract or instant beauty or eternal slimness (is there such a word?). Just a beautiful, unassuming little song on local radio. It caught my attention, I did not catch the title, nor the name of the artist. And promptly forgot about it.
A day or two later I heard it again. This time I made sure to catch the title and the artist’s name. Tomorrow never knows by Bruce Springsteen. And the rest, as they say, is history. Nothing has been the same again for me since then.
Surely it is a strange choice. But I did not choose it. The song chose me. Yes, I agree it is not one of his great, epic songs. Nor his greatest love song. It is just … well, beautiful. Wistful, pure, simple. Beautiful.
I don’t know what really caught me about the song. Maybe the title – even my computer changed it to Tomorrow never comes.
Where the cold wind blows
Tomorrow never knows
Where your sweet smile goes
Tomorrow never knows
Maybe just the feeling of not knowing what tomorrow will bring, but trying to make the most of the moment, trying to catch the essence of the now. Maybe the knowledge that the sweetness of a smile can change just as fast as the wind.
In the field your long hair flows
Down by the tail end of the tracks
Beneath the water tower
I carried you on my back
Yes, I can see the boy and the girl (could be they are not even that young any more), playing the love game in some deserted spot on the edge of town, laughing with the joy of being together.
Over the rusted spikes of
that highway of steel
When no more thunder sounds
Buth I think these are the words that really hooked me. At first I could not see what they meant. And when I realized this man could find words like those to describe an unused railroad track – that just blew my mind away.
And I have not found it yet. Also don’t want to.

Leave a Reply

