Two hours of Bruce on an empty stomach

It is 03:55 on a hot and sticky summer night in SA, a world away from New Jersey where Julian Garcia has driven himself to work through everything wet and cold nature has to offer. I drag myself out of bed to switch on the computer. I am tired, did not get to bed early at all. On the bedside table my book and pencil are waiting, because experience has taught me if I dosed off somewhere during Groove it all night on Homegrown Radio NJ, I do not remember anything that was played before the snooze. But this morning I briefly consider dumping the writing and just lying back. But only briefly.
So there I am, writing pad on the chest, pencil in the hand, light switched on. Tired, grumpy and wondering if maybe I am quite mad after all …
And then Bruce rips into Summertime Blues … and everything changes. I forget about my tiredness, I forget about the second (or is it third?) flood destroying whatever are still left on the banks of our great Gariep River which gives thousands of people their livelihood, I forget about political puppets living a joke which isn’t funny at all, I forget about people dying in Cairo and and being flooded in Australia and having a hell of a winter in America. All that matters is the music.
Julian’s theme tonight is summertime – pure wishfull thinking on his side. Here in the Western Cape it is summer indeed. It is hot and dry and we are keeping our fingers crossed about the fires. While Bruce sings his summer songs I am lifted up and out of my early morning gloom. I happily lie back, listen, opening my eyes just to jot down the titles … Badlands, This life,  Long time coming, Independence Day (only the second or third time I hear this song), My hometown, Blinded by the light, Talk to me, a heartbreaking, probably early (I am no pro yet) version of 4th of July, It’s my life, One step up … And then two jewels from YouTube – Born to run and Dancing in the dark set to dance music. I have no idea how this can be done, but it made amazing listening stuff. After that some songs from Nebraska which I do not know yet. A new jewel to me, called Brothers under the bridge (I think!). And so on, 22 songs in all, carefully selected by a real fan (believer?).
Slightly after 6:00 the Big Man’s sax soars through Jungleland and I am ready to tackle the day. I hook my MP3 player to my ears, set it on the Human Touch album (wonderful rhythms for excercise) and tackles my morning walk – and the rest of the day – with enthusiasm and energy.
Thank you, Julian! And – as always – thank you, Bruce!

Leave a Reply

