Out of the badlands into the promised land

Until recently I have concentrated on the positive side of one of the songs of Bruce Springsteen I love best, namely The Promised Land.
If I could take one moment into my hands

Mister I ain’t a boy, no I’m a man
And I believe in a promised land
And then one day I just saw the explanation of years of my own struggle in the rest of the song. I spent years of unhappiness in the wrong career, feeling exactly as Bruce describes here:
I’ve done my best to live the right way

I get up every morning and go to work each day
But your eyes go blind and your blood runs cold
Sometimes I feel so weak I just want to explode
Explode and tear this whole town apart
Take a knife and cut this pain from my heart
Find somebody itching for something to start
And all the time I kept reprimanding myself because I thought I had everything and just could not handle life. I was also struggling to formulate what exactly was wrong in my life. I had so many things going for me – a good job, a wonderful husband, precious kids, friends, etc. etc. But I was not in the right place, I was in my personal badlands. Fortunately I got to the point where I made a choice to move on. The wonderful thing is that things went right for me from the very start and I have really reached my own promised land. Still working hard, but now doing what I want to do, what I know I do well.
So that is part of the magic of Springsteen – in his late twenties he could recognize, name and interpret emotions that took me twice as long to understand and which I could never really express to my own satisfaction. (On the Darkness on the edge of town album, of course.) And even better, he could set it to a kick-ass tune which makes you want to dance into that promised land!

One thought on “Out of the badlands into the promised land

  1. Pingback: Diary of a depression fighter | Better days!

Leave a Reply

