Philadelphia: The movie

I have just watched this movie for the first time. Yes, I know, I know … But surely it is a case of better late than never.
Of course I was interested in the film because of the theme song  Streets of Philadelphia by Springsteen. But compelling as it was, it is not the only thing I will remember from the film. I got so much more. The performances by both Tom Hanks and Denzil Washington were some of the best acting I have ever seen.
It is not an easy movie to watch. But it is a movie you must see – in my opinion definetely worthy of the many prizes it won. And of course Streets capture the spirit of the movie perfectly.
Here is Bruce at the Oscar ceremony: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QeIOtaydCyo&feature=related
Read the lyrics here: http://www.brucespringsteen.net/songs/StreetsOfPhiladelphia.html
I was bruised and battered and I couldn’t tell what I felt
I was unrecognizable to myself
Saw my reflection in a window
I didn’t know my own face …
The night has fallen, I’m lyin’ awake
I can feel myself fading away …
When you  have finished crying, read more about the film at
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0107818/ 🙂

Leave a Reply

