Saying good-bye – but NOT farewell!

The Promise - Premiere - Inside: The 5th International Rome Film FestivalThis blog is about two and a half years old now. During these years it has become a part of my life, like Bruce has become a part of my life. The best way to put it is to say that his music fills every empty moment of my life with positive energy. That pretty much sums it up.

I have, however, come to the point where the urge to talk and write about Bruce is not so unbearably strong any more. Not because I have grown tired of his work, but maybe the honeymoon stage is over now. 🙂 As we all know, true love does (hopefully) not stop after the honeymoon, but continues in a calmer and more mature way. This might be where I am now. I’m not trying to convert those around me anymore. I do not listen to only Springsteen music anymore. I can actually talk about other things, too.

But no, I will not leave him behind. He has done too much for me. And will continue doing just that.

For the foreseeable future I will repost from this blog for those who were not with me for the entire ride. Hope you enjoy, as I will enjoy looking back.

Below is the first post for this blog on 18 Oct. 2010. (The photo is a new one, however). I am glad to say that everything is still the same. There has of course been some bad days, but the promised land is always right around the next corner. And I had the energy to go look around that corner every time.

Thanks to everybody who visited, commented and enjoyed with me!

I have always had a pretty nice life, full of good things and fun. I have a beautiful family, I live in one of the safest places in my troubled country. But for the last twenty or more years I have struggled with depression. There were many good times, but the darkness was always hovering on the edge of town. And often it invaded the town, it ruined its buildings, it hurt its citizens.
Recently a few things came together in my head. I did a course in life coaching, which gave me wonderful skills to promote positive changes in my life. I did a depression course where I learned spesific tecniques to handle the blackness and crawl out into the sun again.
But the most important thing that happened was that I discovered the work and life of Bruce Springsteen. In my country he is virtually unknown. If people know him, they only know about Born in the USA. His music is hardly ever heard on the radio station that I listen to. But one day in July 2009 a beautiful little song was played that caught my attention, reached something inside of me. I did not catch the name of the singer or the song. I think I totally forgot about it. And then, a few days later, I heard it again. This time I made sure of the singer and the song: Bruce Springsteen and Tomorrow never knows.
I had just recently aquired internet access and started discovering the delights of YouTube. So I typed in the name of the song – and a whole new world openend up for me.
Since then I have not looked back. These are indeed better days for me. I am fascinated by this man, filled with a sense of wonder and admiration at his work and the way he leads his life. I am constantly discovering new songs, new aspects of his creativity. I admire his passion, his energy, his apparent integrity. I fill every empty moment of my days with his music. It is in my head where in the past there had often been negative thoughts and worry and a vague, aching hunger.
With Bruce on my side I am fighting the badlands every day.My belief in the promised land becomes stronger and stronger. I take that leap of faith with laughter en joy.
And feel so privileged to share in his gifts to the world.

5 thoughts on “Saying good-bye – but NOT farewell!

  1. That’s a beautiful post.

    To have gained inspiration and happiness like you have done here is an amazing thing. I am so happy that you have found his music and life an inspiration.

    I need some of that so maybe I’ll go take a look also!

    The Quiet Borderline
    http://quietbpd.wordpress.com/

    • Treat yourself and start reading Springsteen lyrics for bedtime stories … There is a whole world of optimism and inspiration waiting for you. And he does not TRY to inspire anybody, he just tells the story of his own and other people’s struggles to find a better life. I have found that his words have a universal scope far beyond the blue-collar workers in NJ that he originally wrote about.

  2. Hello! This is PAP DX from No Surrender Community (we have already added a link to your blog on our page). I am from Greece, and I was happy to see that you discovered Bruce through one of my favourite songs from Working On A Dream : Tomorrow Never Knows.
    I hope you get to see him live, because, believe me, it’s a life-changing experience!

    • Great to meet you here! Even greater to at last find somebody who understands my love for that little song. Greetings from SA!

Leave a Reply

