Diary of a depression fighter

Originally posted on 3 March 2011.Balanced

This idea has been haunting me for some time now. (If you are not yet aware of the link between my personal fight against depression and my love for Bruce’s music, do read about my journey at http://marilebetterdays.wordpress.com/these-are-better-days/ and http://marilebetterdays.wordpress.com/2011/01/31/out-of-the-badlands-into-the-promised-land/). I have started a diary about depression on my personal blog. (in Afrikaans my home language) afther having some success with my diary of a romance writer.

My first post has created so much reaction that I decided to give it a try in English, too. So I hope the Springsteen fans who have no interest in depression will forgive me for using this platform to reach those of us who are familiar with the havoc this terrible thing can run in a person’s life. (If nothing else, it can be a good excercise to hone my translation skills!) Hopefully my readers will not see it as let me show you how it must be done, but as travelling a road together and learning from one another. In this way it can be of great value for both writer and reader. I have been battling with the insistant feeling that I must do something for people fighting depression for some time .

The problem is that I really do not know where I will find the time. (But I also know that being busy can be very stimulating and invigorating – and that the busy person is usually the best one to ask to do something!) I would have loved to develop a course and present it for small groups. But that could be a completely new career. After much thought I have realised that there is no way in which I can do this AND still stay focused on my writing. (I am a writer of romantic fiction in my home language.)

Eventually my thoughts led me to the idea of an online course. But two months of 2011 have passed – and I still have no idea where to start! Which makes it time for serious action, because I do not want to be stuck with some unresolved resolutions – I have found that not achieving a goal (however small) is a sure way to pull yourself down into the mud …

Thus – my goal: To add a thought/chapter/idea to this diary-to-be each week. Let’s see how it goes. (And yes, I already suspect that I will learn more than the readers.)

In the two years since I wrote the above I have established  a readership about depression in my home language and started an e-book on the topic. My original idea was to translate this in English, but eventually the idea of using Bruce’s work grew on me. There are just so many songs as well as so many aspects of his life which are relevant to a depression fighter’s situation.

Thanks to the unknown artist!

Not quite sure yet how I will go about it. But hopefully something positive will come out of this. Like something positive always comes out of listening to Springsteen music.

2 thoughts on “Diary of a depression fighter

Leave a Reply

